Testimonials

Tags: Testimonials

“ I made connect with Samira through a colleague. I was impressed with her level of expertise and sound knowledge on employment legislation, I would definitely regard her as a trial blazer in her field. Although I only got to know her during this year she impressed me to such an extent that at the drop of a hat SCE Solicitors were able to come and present at a conference I have arranged in my workplace.

Samira is extremely approachable, very understanding and highly professional. I would urge anybody to seek her assistance should they face serious legal employment challenges in their work place or even for some advice. ”   October 2016

Mohammed Ali
Vice Chair, AFSA


“ Dear Mandy,

Regarding the recent SCE Solicitors seminar.

On behalf of myself and the other attendees from Belzona Polymers Ltd we would like to thank both Mandy and Sarah for providing a great seminar.

The seminar showed that as a company we are managing our practices well. However, we did obtain a few key/vital pieces of information that we will definitely be adopting internally. The seminar was very well set out, short but to the point with the right level of detail needed and very informative. We all felt that the style and skill of the presenting was very professional.

Going forward should there be any further seminars that are of interest to us as a business we will definitely be signing up and would have no problems recommending SCE Solicitors and their seminars to other businesses. ”   October 2016

James Sykes
Belzona Polymers Ltd


“To Mandy Walton,

We recently used SCE Solicitors to help advise and write up our contract for our new apprentice which we took on in September. Mandy went above and beyond in order to give me the best advice possible and was quick and efficient in getting the information back to me and answering my list of questions.

SCE Solicitors provide a prompt and competitive service. Mandy is efficient and responsive to emails and calls and went out of her way to arrange the contract on short notice. We would like to thank Mandy and the team and wouldn’t hesitate to recommend SCE Solicitors to friends and family. Thank you.” ”   October 2016

Tobias Duczenko
Managing Director, Zenko Properties


“Dear Mandy

I recently attended your seminar on accident in the work place, designed to educate manufacturing companies and support them with health and safety advice in the work place.

Overall, I was very impressed with the event and the way it was organised and run. The quality of the content was excellent and it was presented by you and your colleague flawlessly. There was lots of useful information provided which will help not only our organisation, but will also help us to add value to our clients by passing on valuable nuggets.

You stayed behind at the end to answer questions and offered as much information as possible. It was easy to see you have a wealth of experience and expertise in the field of employment law and a genuine desire to help others. Your passion certainly shines through your work! Thank you for inviting me along to the event. I can see that SCE Solicitors are a fantastic law firm and I would have no hesitation in recommending them to anyone in the future. ”   September 2016

Amanda Kaplanski
Shot Blast Media Limited (Client)


“ I was unfortunate to find myself in a position where I needed to find an employment lawyer quickly. Samira was recommended to me and I cannot express in words how grateful I am to her for her help. Having been incredibly worried about this situation, and totally out of my depth, Samira put me at ease instantly. With her claim and reassuring manner, together with incredible technical expertise, she took the stress out of the situation and dealt with the matter exceptionally quickly and efficiently. I cannot recommend this firm highly enough. ”   August 2016

Anonymous
(Client)


“ We have recently started using the services of SCE Solicitors, having used a large corporate company for many years. Being a family firm with over 60 members of staff we were looking for a company who could relate to our requirements and understand how we look after our staff. SCE Solicitors have given us just that. The personal service is really outstanding, with attention to detail and swift responses to all enquires that we make. I could not recommend SCE Solicitors more. ”   August 2016

Claire Kendall
Partner, Richard Kendall Estate Agents (Client)


“ Dear Mandy,

Shot Blast Media specialises in filming for industry, developing creative content to help businesses communicate more effectively. Successful business planning and employment is a key part to the success of our business growth strategy.

You have provided us with the bespoke employment contracts and policies we need to take on new staff members. These contracts have been tailored to suit our needs as well as fulfilling all legal requirements and employment conditions. Your personal and tailored approach has made the entire process very simple and quick to complete.

As well as providing professional advice you were very efficient and resourceful, which has provided the ideal environment for us to develop the contracts we wanted in place.

I would not hesitate to recommend you to anyone requiring any employment law expertise.

Thanks once again for all your help and hard work ”   August 2016

Lotty Wiltshaw
Shot Blast Media (Client)


“Samira Cakali’s services were recommended to me and I have to say that the service she provided to me was nothing short of excellent from start to finish. She continuously kept me up to date with my employment matter, entered info fixed fee arrangements at each stage of the process and got me the result that I wanted. I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend her services when in need of HR and Employment advice.” ”   June 2016

Richard Robinson
(Client)


“We opened our day spa and became clients of SCE Solicitors in September of last year. I have found on each occasion where I have required legal assistance, that they have been extremely efficient, professional and friendly. From drawing up contracts, to dealing with staff issues (large or small), Samira always goes above and beyond of what is expected and explains things in a manner that is easy to understand. I would highly recommend SCE Solicitors to any business owner.”   April 2016

Fran Halloran 
Owner, Manor House Spa (Client)


“Samira, helped the company I was managing through a difficult employment situation with one of our former employees, she helped through the mediation process and then supported the company through the ancillary litigation process. She was extremely professional throughout and very easy to work with. Highly recommended.”   April 2016

Alex Heaton 
Managing Director, Venture Works (UK) Ltd t/a SmartLive (Client)


“I found Samira online when I was in a very difficult position at work. She supported me and gave me advice on my rights and also have me lots of advice on what to research online so that my case was strong before I would need to register with tribunal. I was very determined about my case and Samira had to work hard in order for me to get the compensation and protection at work. I did not resign because as I felt I should not be the one leaving as I was a victim of racial discrimination. It was a four-year journey which impacted on my health and wellbeing but with Samira’s support I was able to face judicial mediation with confidence and belief in myself and my case. I feel Samira and her team provided a professional and valuable service which has impacted on my life in a very positive way.”   April 2016

Anonymous
(Client)


“I would just like to thank you for all your help and support and for making me feel at ease throughout. You were fantastic from the first time I rang, reassuring me that I was in safe hands and listening to me, not making me feel rushed. You gave me all the information I needed and kept me updated.”    April 2016

Dana Emmerson
(Client)


“We were looking for help with all forms of HR as a growing business. Samira ensured that out staff contracts of employment were valid and up to date with current employment law. Samira also helps with disciplinary matters as and when they arise to ensure that we are operating with guidelines. Samira recently helped greatly when we had to deal with a particularly problematic member of staff. Very much so as I know with confidence that we are acting appropriately at all times due to Samira’s knowledge and expert advice. This, in itself, has taken a great burden off out shoulders and we can concentrate more on business matters.”    March 2016

Nigel Fowler
Duftons Plumbing and Heating Supplies Limited (Client)


“Very friendly and helpful. The owner is a joy to do business with.”   March 2016

Mark Fortis
(Client)


"Samira and John were very helpful and accessible with good legal advice at all times. Not to forget Rana being efficient with her communications. Samira with her extensive employment law knowledge and quick thinking ability, fought hard my case which was won. I was satisfied with the performance and final result. Many thanks to Samira John and Rana.”   December 2015

Vassilis Georgio
(Client)


“Firstly may I thank you for all you help and assistance in my recent tribunal case you were absolutely fantastic and kept me well informed at every stage. Once Again Rana thank you very much.”    December 2015

Robert Barton
(Client)


“I was locked in a disability dispute with my employer for some time and felt that the only solution was to seek legal advice. After discussing my case with several solicitors I was becoming frustrated. No one was able to grasp the complexity of my case. Some even told me that I didn't have a case or that it wasn't worth pursuing financially due to costs. Fortunately, at this point I found SCE Solicitors and Samira Cakali. She is extremely competent, knowledgeable, professional and she understood the complexity of my problem with ease. This is because Samira has a warm and friendly approach, listens with empathy and has a remarkable ability to remember the details of my case. She worked tirelessly and went the extra mile to ensure that I received a settlement offer which I was happy to accept. All credit to Samira and her team at SCE Solicitors because I couldn't have done it without them.”   June 2015

A Van Assen
(Client)


"Thank you Samira and Rana for your excellent service. You were efficient and responded very quickly when I had queries about the process. I have dyslexia and you were there for me throughout the full process making sure I understood everything. I would not hesitate to recommend my friends and family to use your firm"  June 2015

Paul Etchells
(Client)


"I have been using Samira for advice and representation since August 2014 and I can only praise her for the work she has done to date. Samira is professional, easy to talk to and her legal knowledge is sound."  February 2015

Shebhani Summan 
(Client)


"Our experience with this solicitor has been first class. In all honesty I can't really say that the service could have improved in any way as it really has been absolutely fantastic"  February 2015

Sam, Rasib 
Dr Rasib & Partners (Client)


"I have used Samira to draft employment contracts and help with advice on employment law matters. Samira is very helpful and gives advice in a way which is constructive and easy to understand. I have no hesitation recommending Samira for employment law. Samira was very helpful throughout and I did not have any problems." February 2015

Antony
Owner, (Client)


"All advice and guidance given has been prompt and extremely helpful. They took the time to get to know our company and its needs, meaning the advice was specific and tailored appropriately."  February 2015

Lesley Adshead 
Office Manager, Radio Cabs (Client)


"Samira has become part of the team. She is knowledgeable, up to date but is also thoughtful and balanced in her advice. We initially asked her to revamp all our employment law materials, our employment contracts, contractors’ contracts, and our Sales Contracts and agreements and finally our Staff Handbook, all of which were updated in a timely manner and within the context of our specific business environment. I have been doing this (running businesses, employing people, etc.) for most of my life, so I have to say I was unnerved by how I had drifted slightly out of date on some of her finer points. Very valuable."  February 2015

Steve Rowles 
ICC Netwoorks (Client)


"Samira is very helpful and very knowledgeable, I'm very impressed with her"  February 2015

Jason Deakin 
Owner, Radio Cabs (Client)


"Samira is a true professional but gives a very personable and pragmatic approach when advising and guiding. She has a commercial savvy and respects the challenge in running businesses and employing people which is not the case with many solicitors! I have collaboratively worked with Samira and also referred her to my clients based on the aforementioned." February 2015

Julia Langton
Owner, Cloverleaf People (Client)


"I have worked in partnership with Samira to support clients in managing challenging employment issues with their staff. Samira combines her smart understanding and legal knowledge with a very accessible, pragmatic and people friendly style. She is very easy to work with" February 2015

Fiona Monk 
Owner, Gecko HR (Client)


"Samira has been very good in helping me set up my business. She listened to me and seemed keen to help, a refreshing approach I found. The contract work she helped me with was very good value for money and I would go back again." February 2015

Chris Beeby 
Owner, Thriving Digital Ltd (Client)


"Samira always gives us sound legal advice. Having her there as a sounding board, and making use of her knowledge takes pressure off our management team in complex legal areas. And it saves us money in the long run because the job is done right" February 2015

Jeremy Halliday 
Finance Director, Gateways School (Client)


"Samira was outstanding in helping us create a legal contract for customers, as well as employment contracts and a handbook for staff. All questions were answered quickly and she was always willing to help. I cannot recommend her enough." January 2015

Gareth Jones
Global Computing Solutions (Client)


"Always receive expert and sound advice." January 2015

David Reed 
Compliance Director, 4Site Security Ltd (Client)


“Ridiculously efficient’ is the phrase that comes to mind when I think about Samira. She has dealt a couple of cases for us, in a very professional, personable & supportive manner. Nothing is too much trouble and her HR knowledge is invaluable. I would highly recommend her services”. August 2015

Tina Rollings 
Practice Manager, Westbourne Surgery (Client)


“I recently instructed Samira to represent me at a three day employment tribunal after an employment consultancy let me down a week before the hearing! Samira was quick to grasp the complex nature of the legal issues, she made me feel at ease and she explained the whole process in simple, straightforward language.

I was extremely pleased with the service and the amazing result. I would not hesitate to recommend the services of her and her team to any business or individual that finds themselves in deep waters when it comes to unravelling HR and Employment Law.”  June 2014

Sarah Dykes
(Client)


I have to express my sincerest gratitude to Samira and her colleagues at SCE solicitors. My husband had been severely bullied and discriminated against by his employer. His confidence and overall well-being had been eroded. After Samira had been recommended to me I took advantage of the initial free advice she provided and I instructed her to continue to negotiate a settlement on behalf of my husband. 

I was extremely emotional and quite demanding as the situation had had a very negative impact on the whole family. Samira was very empathetic, understanding yet still demonstrated strong negotiating skills when dealing with the opponent’s solicitor who used devious and aggressive tactics. 

In short I cannot recommend Samira and her colleagues enough. She made a terrible situation much less stressful and for that I am truly grateful. June 2014

Mrs N McAlpine
(Client)


I was referred to SCE Solicitors by a friend who works at another law firm. I didn't know what to expect but when I first spoke to Samira she put me at ease straight away and it felt like I had known her for years! Samira passed my details onto her colleague John Dickens. 

John broke everything down to me about the employment tribunal process and made me feel at ease as someone believed me. 

I couldn't believe how humble and welcoming these guys were. John kept me updated on everything regarding my case and even came in on his day off. I also had his work mobile so could access him out of hours which is very rare. 

As you can imagine the last 8 months were a nightmare but these guys gave me a lot of faith to go through to end and stuck by me through this nightmare.  I am very grateful to John and Samira for all the support they have given to me and my family.

All I can say is John Dickens is a true gentleman and Samira you are one in a million and I would recommend SCE Solicitors to all my friends and family. 

I wish you guys all the success for the future. Keep up with the great job. I have your number on speed dial now!

Thank you so much. May 2014

Raza Mustafa and family
(Client)


John, thank you for all your help, support and hand-holding all the way through this worrying and upsetting time. You never failed to keep me posted and always told us the truth. We had nowhere to turn, but you gave us all a new start. Thank you for believing in us; thank you is not good enough but it is all I can say.

I wish you all the very best in all you do. April 2014

Lisa Earl
(Client)


Thank you so much for all your support and your patient, brilliant and clever work. You have been totally brilliant. Go team SCE Solicitors. April 2014

Joe Brooks
(Client)


Thank you Samira for your excellent service. You were efficient and responded very quickly when I had queries about the process, I would not hesitate to recommend my friends and family to use your firm March 2014

M-Q-Saeed
(Client)


“I would recommend Samira to any friends or colleagues as she is top class in what she does.

She has a fantastic personality and communicates well with people of all levels... As far as I am concerned Samira wins hands down!!”  March 2014

Tracy Blackburn
Owner, Mrs Mopps Cleaning Services (Client)


"I first became aware of SCE Solicitors from an article Samira had written on her blog that suddenly had become very relevant to me having employment difficulties. I initially contacted Samira by telephone for some advice and was thoroughly impressed by not only her legal knowledge but also her unique understanding of my profession. Samira was both empathetic and informative so I was more than happy to meet with her.

After my first meeting with Samira, I was also impressed by her professionalism that I was sure I wanted her as my trusted legal advisor and representative.

The very long path that we subsequently travelled down together was a very difficult time however I always felt prepared, supported and reassured as Samira or John were always on the other end of the phone. Eventually, we arrived at a very successful outcome and I can whole heartedly recommend Samira John and the rest of the team at SCE Solicitors."  March 2014

Dr Ruth Campbell
(Client)


"I was a little hesitant at first when contacting SCE for advice as my case was of a highly sensitive nature. Upon speaking to John Dickens, Paralegal, I was immediately made to feel at ease and he took the time to listen and give me the time and understanding required in order to explain my case fully.

John gave me the confidence to pursue my case with confidence and his friendly, professional approach made the whole experience a lot easier to deal with. If John wasn't available there was always a colleague waiting on the side lines to pick up any queries or worries that I had in connection with any progress throughout my case. My case was settled quickly and satisfactorily.

If you are not sure on what to do next with your grievance, don't hesitate any further, contact John today, you will not be disappointed."  January 2014

(Client)


"I found Samira extremely informative, helpful and supportive from the moment I contacted her. She always responded to telephone calls and emails and I felt she was really fighting my corner throughout the whole process.

She was not phased by anything the other side threw at her and was always prepared to do battle. I am grateful to both her and John for securing the reference I deserved and understanding that it was about getting the other side to admit culpability. Thank you.” October 2013

Shelley Ross
(Client)


"The service provided was excellent. I was kept informed at every stage of the process and given the different options and implications for each option. Costs were explained upfront and flexibility was given to me. The service was tailored to match my needs.

Above all having you there made all the difference and was very reassuring in what was a difficult time for me. I'm very glad I contacted you [John Dickens]! Finally the best aspect of the service was the initial free of charge consultation. I wish you all the best for the future. Many thanks." Septermber 2013

Kiran Chumber
(Client)


"We have been using the services of SCE Solicitors since February 2012.

I was recently appointed the Compliance Director for 4 Site Security Services,  part of my responsibilities are dealing with all HR issues, administration, compliance, recruitment, training & company accreditations.

It is very re assuring to know that I have a very knowledgeable team of employment law solicitors who will listen to my issue or problem then offer sound advice. SCE Solicitors fully explain their advice and are always able to inform me of possible outcomes, whilst working within employment law guidelines, policies & procedures.

I would not hesitate in recommending SCE Solicitors to any company who require expert knowledge and advice, that is so important in our work place today for any issues concerning employment law. 

I look forward to a long working relationship with SCE Solicitors." April 2013

David Reed
Compliance Office, 4 Site Security Ltd (Client)


“I met Samira on one of my networking expeditions, and immediately found her a very warm and enduring person! Within a very short time we started to discuss the shortcomings that I had within my business, i.e. that I had no contracts of employment for my staff. This was very swiftly and professionally rectified by Samira’s company. 

At a later date she then brought up the necessity for us to be insured for any tribunal issues that may arise in the future. I can now sleep peacefully at night knowing that if these issues did arise in the future, SCE Solicitors would look after me. I would not hesitate in recommending Samira to any business that needs the peace of mind that her company has given me.” February 2013

Peter Edwards
Director for Ace Jewellery (Client)


“I requested advice from Samira at very short notice after a recommendation from a work colleague. I found Samira to be highly professional and gave me sound and specific advice. Throughout our meeting Samira made me feel at ease and was very informative with any concerns I had. I would highly recommend Samira's services.” 19 February 2013

Richard Oldale 
Freelance Manager at RO(SE) Catering Services (Client)


“Samira was recommended to me by another solicitor, and I approached her to assist me in structuring my company’s employment structure. Although I had no experience in this area, and found much of the contractual definitions daunting, Samira took all the time I needed to ensure that I understood everything fully, and her experience meant that I was able to finally arrange things the way I wanted to. I would have no hesitation in recommending her services to anyone.” February 2013

Adele Woodthorpe
Director at Woodthorpe Comms Ltd (Client)


“Dear Samira

I take this opportunity to thank SCE Solicitors and especially yourself for the recent help with my employment tribunal claim. Your firm was recommended to me at a time when I had no hope of resolving my employment issues with my former employer.

Due to your exemplary and professional experience my case was settled and I received compensation. You ensured that I was kept up-to-date with progress throughout the claim. 

There are not enough words to express my happiness when I received the settlement cheque. I will highly recommend you and your team for providing friendly and professional advice. Finally, I wish you success in the future and once again thank you very much.

Regards,

John Mburu” March 2013

John Mburu 
Security Officer (Client)


"I began using Samira Cakali very recently, when I needed help handling a tricky employment tribunal issue which had rumbled on for over a year. In next to no time she had taken command of the situation, given me invaluable advice and accompanied a colleague and I to the tribunal hearing, where her input and expertise ensured a pain-free and victorious day. I am now using her skills to review and advise on my company’s employment structure and now consider her my first port of call for any advice I might require as soon as any employment issue arises. 

She is friendly, accessible, down-to-Earth, highly experienced and very reasonable, and I would not hesitate to recommend her to anyone who finds themselves needing legal help relating to any of the issues she specialises in." January 2013

Declan Curran
Director for Home Fix Direct Limited (Client)


"Hi Samira, Hope you are keeping well. Just like to say what great support you were in dealing with my tribunal case in July 2012, it was brilliant the way you simplified the complex employment law legislation, to ensure I understood it every step of the way. If another employment issue arises, I know I have a great employment solicitor backing my corner. I would recommend your employment law service to any business having problems! Thank you." October 2012

Tom Smith
Managing Director for Royton Cars (Client) 


"We work with SCE Solicitors on an on-going basis and have found Samira Ali's approach to dealing with our legal issues to be prompt and pragmatic with sound legal backing. She has excellent legal knowledge in the field of employment law; however it is her accessibility for providing round the clock advice which has proven invaluable to us". August, 2012 

Martin Shaw
Chairman for the Governors of Gateways School (Client) 


“I have worked with Samira in setting up a new social enterprise, and she has proven to be an invaluable asset to have. She has exceptional knowledge of employment law and is always on hand to offer advice and support on legal matters, as well as being very efficient in drafting our legal documentation. I would certainly recommend Samira and SCE Solicitors.” August 3, 2012

Sam Herbert
DIY (Client)


“Samira is a detailed solicitor whose expertise is second to none, She provides clear and concise advice regarding all aspects of law. She is reliable and understands the struggles faced during a case.” July 25, 2012

Margaret Murray
Future Arts (Client)


“Samira is a very professional employment solicitor and pays great attention to detail. Her knowledge of employment law is exceptional and it is obvious she keeps herself up to date with relevant Case Law and any changes to legislation. She displays "out of the box" thinking and is creative with her ideas on how to deal with complex subjects. I would have no hesitation at all in recommending Samira as the number one choice of solicitor to assist, advise and deal with all aspects of employment issues.”  April 22, 2011

Peter Joseph Scott
West Yorkshire Police Federation (client)


“Samira has worked on a number of cases for our members and they all speak exceptionally highly of her. Personally her cheerful but knowledgable disposition is always a bonus.” April 21, 2011

Mark Botham
North Yorkshire Police Federation (Client)


“We benefited from Samira’s input recently when she demonstrated not only a sound grip of some detailed Employment Law (as you would expect) but also an ability to tailor specific and relevant advice in a practical and down to earth manner.” May 3, 2011

Stephen Rowles
MD, ICC Networks Ltd (Business Partner)


“Samira has provided legal advice when HR matters have escalated beyond the point that I would handle as a HR Consultant. I have worked with a number of employment solicitors in my role but found Samira extremely professional and easy to deal with. Samira took the time to understand the requirements of my client, respected the relationship I already have with my clients and most importantly provided sound and practical legal advice. My clients have appreciated Samira's assistance and I would not hesitate to recommend Samira and to continue to use her services in the future.” May 20, 2011

Sarah Barker
Owner, Quest Consulting Services Ltd (business partner)


“Samira is very professional with excellent knowledge of employment law. From start to finish Samira explained the process in terms I understood and reasured me all the way through. I would highly recommend Samira.” November 5, 2011

Paula Smyth
(Client)


“Samira is a very personable Solicitor who puts all your worries at ease. she was truly a delight to work with and knows her subjects inside out. I would definitely hire her again without any hesitation.”  January 13, 2012

Shagufta Khan
(Client)


“Samira has an excellent work ethic. She has proved to be an excellent advocate, which is demonstrated in her current success rate. Her planning of cases is meticulous and she gives each client exceptional service.”  January 18, 2011

Rebecca Townsend
Partner, Rebian Solicitors (ex-colleague)

Subscribe to our mailing list and receive monthly updates of the articles that we publish.

* indicates required

LATEST LEGAL UPDATES:

  • Update on ‘Gig Economy’ Case Law and Developments

    Tags: Employment Status, Gig economy, Temporary Positions, Freelance work, Short-term, Tribunal Cases, Statutory Employment Rights

    Welcome to the new modern work structure: the gig economy. Where temporary positions are prevalent, freelance work is the norm and organisations contract with individuals on a short-term basis. In this article we will explore the high-profile tribunal cases of 2017 which have kept the ‘gig economy’ making headline news. 

    Aslam and others v Uber BV and others 

    The tribunal found that the drivers were not ‘self-employed’ but ‘workers’. Uber presented its business as a technology platform which facilitates the connection of self-employed drivers with customers through the Uber app. On the facts, the tribunal disagreed with this and found that this did not reflect the practical reality. In the tribunal’s view, the drivers were working … more

    

Reviews and Ratings for solicitor Samira Cakali, Leeds